Arkham Horror Card game FAQ

Notes, Errata, and Frequently Asked Questions                       

V.1.0 February, 2017—The Dunwich Legacy Edition

This document contains card clarifications, errata, rule clarifications, and frequently asked questions for Arkham Horror: The Card Game.

The most recent version of this document is considered a supplement to the Arkham Horror: The Card Game Rules Reference.

Twisting, Warping, Changing        

The sciences, each straining in its own direction, have hitherto harmed us little; but some day the piecing together of dissociated knowledge will open up such terrifying vistas of reality, and of our frightful position therein, that we shall either go mad from the revelation or flee from the deadly light into the peace and safety of a new dark age.

—H. P. Lovecraft, The Call of Cthulhu

Notes and Errata                                

This section contains notes and errata pertaining to specific cards or sections of the rulebook. The document version number in which an entry first appeared is listed with that entry in order to establish a history of when each change was made.

Errata overrides the originally printed information on the card it applies to. Unless errata for a card appears below, the original English product printing of that card and all of its information is considered accurate, and overrides all other printings. This includes translated cards, promotional or organized play cards, and printings, which may appear in, alternate products.

Rulebook Errata

Rules Reference page 7, column 1, “Costs”

The third bullet point should read: “When a player is exhausting, sacrificing, or otherwise using cards to pay costs, only cards that are in play and under that player’s control may be used…”

Rules Reference page 10, column 1, “Elimination”

Add the following, as step 0 (i.e. before step 1): “0. For the purpose of resolving weakness cards, the game has ended for the eliminated investigator. Trigger any “when the game ends” abilities on each

weakness the eliminated investigator owns that is in play. Then, remove those weaknesses from the game.

Rules Reference page 21, column 2, “Weakness”

The fifth bullet point should read: “If a weakness is added to a player’s deck, hand, or threat area during the play of a scenario, that weakness remains

a part of that investigator’s deck for the rest of the campaign. (Unless it is removed from the campaign by a card ability or scenario resolution.)
Card Errata

Roland’s .38 Special (Core 6) Daisy’s Tote Bag (Core 8)
On the Lam (Core 10)
Heirloom of Hyperborea (Core 12) Wendy’s Amulet (Core 14)

These cards have no level (instead of being level 0).

Smite the Wicked (TDL 7)

This card’s Forced ability should read: “W hen the game ends, if attached enemy is in play: Zoey Samaras suffers 1 mental trauma.”

Searching for Izzie (TDL 11)

This card’s Forced ability should read: “W hen the game ends, if Searching for Izzie is in play: Jenny Barnes suffers 1 mental trauma.”


Definitions and Terms          

This section provides definitions for important terms that serve a precise function in the game. The terms are presented in alphabetical order.

“Record in your Campaign Log…”

Often the players will be instructed to record a key phrase in the Campaign

Log. This should be written under “Campaign Notes” unless specified otherwise. Because the players may be instructed to check the Campaign Log for this phrase at a later time in the campaign, the indicated phrase should be recorded as it appears, without alteration.

For example: If the players are instructed to record in the Campaign Log that “ the investigators were four hours late,” this shouldn’ t be rewritten as “ the investigators were pretty late,” because the exact number of hours might be important in a later scenario.

“Remember that…”

Sometimes a scenario card will instruct the investigators to “remember” a key phrase, often based on an action they have taken or a decision they have made within that scenario. This phrase may come up later during that scenario, and may trigger additional or different effects. There is no need

to record this phrase in the Campaign Log, because it will only ever matter during that scenario, or during that scenario’s resolution. The players do not need to “remember” any such instruction beyond the end of the scenario in which it appears.

Signature Cards

An investigator’s “signature cards” are the cards that are only available to that investigator, and cannot be included in another investigator’s deck. This includes player cards with the text “(Investigator Name) deck only,” as well as non-basic weaknesses that are listed under “Deckbuilding Requirements” and therefore can only be included in that investigator’s deck.

Signature cards are governed by the following additional rules:

= The number of each signature card listed under an investigator’s “Deckbuilding Requirements” is the exact number of copies of that card that is to be included in that investigator’s deck. If no number is specified, that number is 1.

For example: Under “Deckbuilding Requirements” for Roland Banks,

the following cards are listed: “Roland’s .38 Special, Cover Up, 1 random basic weakness.” Roland Banks must include exactly 1 copy of his signature cards—Roland’s .38 Special and Cover Up. He is not permitted to include more than 1 copy of either of these cards.

= An investigator’s signature cards cannot be traded or given to other investigators.

For example: Roland has the Roland’s .38 Special card in play. He has the card “Teamwork” which can allow investigators at the same location to trade or give assets among one another. However, because Roland’s .38

Special is one of Roland’s signature cards, he cannot give it to another investigator



Rulings and Clarifications                

This section contains additions and clarifications to the core game rules. Each entry is presented with a unique section number so it can be easily identified when making rulings, answering questions, or otherwise referring to the entry.

It should be used in conjunction with the Rules Reference to establish the rules of play. If the text of this document directly contradicts the text of the Rules Reference, the text of this document takes precedence.


  1. Game Play


(1.1) Attacks of Opportunity

Attacks of Opportunity are only triggered when 1 or more of an investigator’s actions are being spent or used to trigger an ability or action. abilities with a bold action designator do not provoke attacks of opportunity.

(1.2) Triggered Abilities

An investigator is permitted to use triggered abilities (, and abilities) from the following sources:

= A card in play and under his or her control. This includes his or her investigator card.

= A scenario card that is in play and at the same location as the investigator. This includes the location itself, encounter cards placed at that location, and all encounter cards in the threat area of any investigator at that location.

= The current act or current agenda card.

= Any card that explicitly allows the investigator to activate its ability.

(1.3) Reaction () Opportunities

When a triggering condition resolves, investigators are granted the opportunity to resolve abilities in response to that triggering condition. It is only after all investigators have passed their reaction opportunity that the game moves forward.

Using a ability in response to a triggering condition does not prevent other abilities from being used in response to that same triggering condition.

For example: Roland has just defeated an enemy and wishes to trigger his ability: “After you defeat an enemy: Discover 1 clue at your location.”

He discovers 1 clue at his location. He may then play Evidence! (Core 22) in response to defeating that same enemy. As both cards have the same triggering condition (“After you defeat an enemy”), triggering one of these reactions does not prevent Roland from triggering the other.

(1.4) Nested Sequences

Each time a triggering condition occurs, the following sequence is followed: (1) execute “when…” effects that interrupt that triggering condition,

(2) Resolve the triggering condition, and then, (3) execute “after…” effects in response to that triggering condition.

Within this sequence, if the use of a or Forced ability leads to a new triggering condition, the game pauses and starts a new sequence: (1) execute “when…” effects that interrupt the new triggering condition, (2) resolve the new triggering condition, and then, (3) execute “after…” effects in response

to the new triggering condition. This is called a nested sequence. Once this nested sequence is completed, the game returns to where it left off, continuing with the original triggering condition’s sequence.

It is possible that a nested sequence generates further triggering conditions (and hence more nested sequences). There is no limit to the number of nested sequences that may occur, but each nested sequence must complete before returning to the sequence that spawned it. In effect, these sequences are resolved in a Last In, First Out (LIFO) manner.

For example: Roland and Agnes are embroiled in a fierce battle. Roland has a Guard Dog in his play area, and is engaged with a Goat Spawn with 2 damage on it. Agnes is engaged with a Ghoul Minion. Roland wishes to play a .45

Automatic, which provokes an attack of opportunity from the Goat Spawn, dealing 1 damage to Roland. Roland assigns this damage to his Guard Dog , which has a ability: “When an enemy attack deals damage to Guard Dog: Deal 1 damage to the attacking enemy.”

Before resolving the playing of Roland’s .45   Automatic, Guard Dog’s ability resolves, and 1 damage is dealt to the Goat Spawn, which would defeat it. Goat Spawn has the following Forced ability: “When Goat Spawn is defeated: Each investigator at this location takes 1 horror.” Before resolving the damage dealt to the Guard Dog , 1 horror is dealt to each investigator at the location, including Agnes, who has a ability: “After

1 or more horror is placed on Agnes Baker: Deal 1 damage to an enemy at your location.” Before resolving the Goat Spawn’s defeat, Agnes deals 1 damage to the Ghoul Minion engaged with her. Now that there are no further or Forced abilities to trigger, the players return to the previous triggering condition and resolve the Goat Spawn’s defeat, and resolve any “After…” effects that might occur when it is defeated. Then, the players resolve the damage dealt to the Guard Dog , and resolve any “After…” effects that might occur from that damage. Finally, the players return to the original triggering condition, and Roland is able to put his .45 Automatic into play.

(1.5) Choices, and the Grim Rule

W hen investigators are forced to make a choice and there are multiple valid options, the lead investigator decides between those options. The Grim Rule does not play a part in these choices.

For example: Locked Door reads “Attach to the location with the most clues, and without a Locked Door attached.” If there are 3 locations that are tied for the most clues, and none of them already have a Locked Door attached, the lead investigator decides between those 3 locations. Players are not forced to decide which of those 3 options would be the objectively worst option.

The Grim Rule only comes into effect if players are unable to find the answer to a rules or timing conflict, and are thus unable to continue playing the game. It is designed to keep the game moving when looking up the correct answer would be too time-consuming or inconvenient for the players. The Grim Rule is not an exhaustive answer to rules/timing conflicts.

(1.6) Additional Costs

Some cards add additional costs that must be paid in order to perform certain effects or actions, in the form of “As an additional cost to (specified effect/action) you must (additional cost)” or “You must (additional cost) to (specified effect/action).”

Additional costs are costs that can be paid outside the normal timing point of paying costs (for instance, during the resolution of an effect). If an effect that requires an additional cost would resolve, the additional cost must be paid at that time. If the additional cost cannot be paid, that aspect of the effect fails to resolve.

Additional costs do not have to be paid when a Forced effect or mandatory instruction (such as in the Campaign Guide, or on the back of an Act or Agenda card) requires an investigator to resolve an effect.

For example: “Ashcan” Pete is at the Miskatonic Quad and activates Duke’s second ability, which reads: “ Exhaust Duke: Investigate. You investigate with a base skill of 4. You may move to a connecting location immediately before investigating with this effect.” Pete pays the cost to activate this ability, which

is spending one action and exhausting Duke. Then Pete resolves the ability, first moving to the Orne Library, followed by investigating. The Orne Library, however, reads: “You must spend 1 additional action to investigate the Orne Library.” This adds an additional cost that must be paid in order to investigate the Orne Library. This additional cost is paid when the investigate action would resolve, outside the normal timing point for paying costs. If Pete cannot spend the additional action, that aspect of Duke’s effect fails to resolve.


(1.7) Skill Test Results and Advanced Timing

During Step 7 of Skill Test Timing (“Apply skill test results”), all of the effects of the successful skill test are determined and resolved, one at a time. This includes the effects of the test itself (such as the clue discovered while investigating, or the damage dealt during an attack), as well as any “If this test is successful…” effects from card abilities or skill cards committed to the test.

or Forced abilities with a triggering condition dependent upon the skill test being successful or unsuccessful (such as “A fter you successfully investigate,” or “A fter you fail a skill test by 2 or more”) do not trigger at this time. These abilities are triggered during Step 6, “Determine success/failure of skill test.”


  1. Card Ability Interpretation


(2.1) “You/Your,” expanded

The following guidelines are used to interpret which investigator is referenced by the words “you” and “your.”

= A Revelation ability that references “you/your” refers to the investigator who drew the card and is resolving the ability.

= When resolving a triggered ability (, , or ability), “you/your” refers to the investigator triggering the ability.

= If an ability contains a clause identifying whom it is targeting, “you/ your” in that ability refers to those investigators. For example, Stubborn Detective (Core 103) reads: “While Stubborn Detective is at your location…” this clause identifies “you” as any investigator at his location. Young Deep One reads: “After Young Deep One engages you…” this clause identifies “you” as any investigator who engages Young Deep One.

= Any other instance of “you/your” that does not fall into the above categories refers to the investigator who controls the card, the investigator who has the card in his/her threat area, or who is currently interacting with the card.

A card may have multiple different abilities in which “you/your” may be interpreted differently. “You/your” may refer to a different investigator in each of these abilities.

For example: Dreams of R’ lyeh reads:

Revelation – Put Dreams of R’ lyeh into play in your threat area. You get –1 and –1 sanity.

: Test (3). If you succeed, Discard Dreams of R’ lyeh.”

These three abilities reference “you/your” in different ways.   For the Revelation ability, “your” refers to the investigator who drew Dreams of R’ lyeh and is resolving its Revelation.   For its constant ability, “you” refers to the investigator who has Dreams of R’ lyeh in his or her threat area.   For its ability, “you” refers to the investigator who is performing the ability.

(2.2) Timing of “At…” or “If…” abilities

Some abilities have triggering conditions that use the words “at” or “if ” instead of specifying “when” or “after,” such as “at the end of the round,” or “if the Ghoul Priest is defeated.” These effects trigger in between any “when…” abilities and any “after…” abilities with the same triggering condition.

Frequently Asked Questions                     


This section provides answers to a number of common questions that are asked about the game. The entries are presented in a question and answer format, with the newest questions at the end of the list.

Can I investigate a location with no clues on it? If I do, what happens?

Yes. You can investigate a location even if there are no clues on it. However, you won’t be able to discover any clues there, because there are no clues on the location to discover. Investigating a location with no clues might still be useful to trigger card abilities such as Burglary (Core 45) or Scavenging (Core 73).

Are clues on Cover Up (Core 7) considered to be “at my location” for the purposes of Roland’s ability?

No. Generally speaking, cards (such as investigators, assets under your control, enemies in your threat area, etc) are “at” a location. Clues are only “at” a location if they are physically on that location (“Clues,” Rules Reference, page 7).

Is there any difference between “at a location” and “ in a location?”

No. Both terms have the same meaning and are used interchangeably.

If I play an event with a Fight ability, like Backstab (Core 51), does it provoke attacks of opportunity?

No. Abilities with a bold action designator (like FightEvade or Investigate) count as an action of that type. In this case, since Backstab counts as a Fight action, no attacks of opportunity are made, because Fight actions do not provoke attacks of opportunity. The same goes for Fight abilities on assets, like .45 Automatic (Core 16).

If I use an ability or play an event with a bold action type (like Fight, Evade, or Investigate), do I need to spend one action to use the ability and another action to initiate the action listed? Or just one action?

Paying the cost of the ability is enough to initiate the action designated. There is no need to spend an additional action.

Can I trigger the abilities on two copies of .45 Automatic (Core 16) for +2

and +2 damage?

No. Each ability is a separate action that must be resolved in full before you have the opportunity to take another action.

Can I trigger the ability on cards like Physical Training (Core 17) more than once per skill test?

Yes. Unless the ability has a printed limitation on it, you may use it as often as you like, provided you are able to pay the ability’s cost each time.

If there are clues or cards at an unrevealed location, and then that location is revealed, what happens to those clues/cards?

Any clues or cards at an unrevealed location remain where they are when the location is revealed. This includes clues physically placed on the location, enemies or assets at that location, and cards attached to that location. Clues that are placed on the newly revealed location from its clue value are simply added to the clues that were already on that location when it was revealed.

If a card effect says to heal damage or horror but does not indicate from where, can I use it to heal assets or investigators other than myself?

No. “Heal X damage/horror” is shorthand for “Heal X damage/horror from your investigator.” If a card simply reads “Heal X horror” or “Heal X damage,” you can only use it to heal horror or damage from your

investigator. Cards that allow you to heal other investigators or assets will specify that.









Who gets the effects/benefits of a skill card committed to another investigator’s skill test? If I commit Overpower (Core 91) to another investigator’s skill test, do I get to draw 1 card, or does the investigator performing the skill test get to draw

1 card?

Generally speaking, the player who committed the skill card gets the effects of any ability on that skill card. In your example, you would draw the 1 card, not the investigator performing the skill test. However, if a skill card changes or adds to the results of the skill test itself, the investigator performing the test receives the benefit of that ability. For example, if you committed Deduction (Core 39) to another investigator’s skill test, that

investigator would be discovering the additional clue, not you, because you are altering the effects of his or her skill test.

When I use the ability on Stray Cat (Core 76), can I choose any enemy at my location, even if they are engaged with other investigators?

Yes. When you perform a standard evade action, you may only attempt to evade enemies engaged with you. However, card effects (such as Stray Cat or Cunning Distraction (Core 78) may alter or supplant this limitation.

When I attack using Shrivelling (Core 60) and reveal a, or symbol, when do I take 1 horror?

You would take 1 horror immediately as you reveal the symbol, during “ST.3

Reveal chaos token” (“Skill Test Timing,” Rules Reference, page 26). If you had any reactions to taking that horror (such as Agnes Baker’s ability), you would trigger it then, before resolving the rest of the attack.

If I automatically fail a test ( from revealing a symbol, for example), I treat my skill value as if it were 0. If the difficulty of the test is 0, does that mean I succeed?

No. No matter what, if you automatically fail a test, you have failed the test, regardless of how your skill value and the difficulty compare.

How does “searching the collection” for a random basic weakness work? Do I use the same pool of weaknesses I used during deck construction? Or do I search through all of my weaknesses?

Anytime players are instructed to search for a random basic weakness—be it during deck construction, during a scenario’s setup or resolution, or during a scenario itself—players should use the same pool of weaknesses, which is constructed using all of the basic weaknesses from only 1 copy of each product they own. If each investigator has their own collection of cards, they should each use their own pool of weaknesses constructed in the same manner, so as to avoid players’ cards getting mixed together accidentally.

For example: Damon and Kelsy have each constructed decks using Damon’s collection, which consists of 2 copies of the Core Set. During deck construction, they each included 1 random basic weakness from a pool of weaknesses consisting of only the 10 weaknesses in a single copy of the Core Set. This leaves a pool of 8 weaknesses remaining. If they are later instructed to each search the collection for a random basic weakness, these weaknesses would be taken from that remaining pool of 8 weaknesses.

I have committed Double or Nothing (TDL 26) and Perception (Core 90) to a skill test during an investigation, and I also have Dr. Milan Christopher (Core

33) In play. If I succeed, which effects are resolved twice?

The effects of a successful skill test are applied during step 7, and Double or Nothing causes each of these affects to be resolved twice. Dr. Milan Christopher’s ability is a reaction to succeeding at a skill test, and therefore is triggered and resolved during step 6, after success is determined. During step 7, the game result of the investigation (discovering 1 clue), and the “if this test is successful” result of Perception are both resolved twice due to Double or Nothing’s effect.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s